謝景蘭,小名蘭蘭,1921年生於中國貴州。外祖父為著名學者,家境富裕。父親為中國傳統典型文人,精通詩琴書畫。她七歲時遷往上海,隨後定居杭州西湖畔。謝景蘭從小極具音樂天份,謝父更買下鋼琴供她彈練。她十五歲時認識趙無極,兩年後進入杭州藝專音樂系。1941年,謝景蘭與趙無極在香港註冊結婚。1948年,於杭州藝專任教的趙無極獲批准到法國留學,謝景蘭隨趙無極遠赴巴黎開拓藝術視野。

 

身處當時藝術世界的核心,他們沉醉於參觀藝術館、畫廊。他們在蒙帕那斯的工作室與賈克梅蒂(Giacometti)為鄰,與常玉、抽象藝術代表人物 Georges Mathieu、Soulages等藝術家成為好友。他們亦結識名詩人亨利‧米修(Henri Michaux),這位熱愛亞洲文化的長者正是他們日後發展藝術生涯的轉捩點。

 

當時盛行的戰後新抽象派繪畫風潮也深深影響他們。這種自由的創作風格不僅讓趙無極開始轉向抽象繪畫,同時也在無形中深深感染蘭蘭。當趙無極逐漸建立其繪畫事業時,謝景蘭也在巴黎國立高等音樂與舞蹈學院學習作曲,又因一部關於瑪莎.葛蘭姆(Martha Graham)的紀錄片吸引,而轉到美國文化中心學習現代舞。其後因米修推薦,跟美籍法裔名作曲家瓦亥斯(Edgard Varèse)學習最新潮的「電子音樂」。強烈文化衝擊使她意識到自己對表達內心世界的熱切渴望。

 

1957年,謝景蘭與趙無極離異,遷居巴黎北郊聖瑞鎮(St. Ouen),兩年後跟法國音樂家范甸南 (Marcel Van Thienen)結婚,並改名「拉蘭」(Lalan)。對繪畫潛伏已久的熱情促使她拿起畫筆,創作不斷,直至1995年不幸於車禍離世,終年74歲。

 

從音樂觸發舞蹈,舞蹈牽動繪畫,謝景蘭的畫由內在音韻舞姿帶動。早期沉鬱的書法符號抽象,澎湃激烈﹔七十年代與宋元山水感通的日月山峰,柔和內省﹔晚期回歸抽象,細膩線條如舞樂律動,動靜交織,柔中帶剛。其後更發展出結合音樂、舞蹈與繪畫的「綜合藝術」(L’art synthèse)。她從不理世俗洪流,一生只追求忠於內心的藝術表達。作品獲法國文化部、巴黎市立現代美術館、上海美術館、澳門藝術博物館等收藏。

 

 

謝景蘭

1921

九月十四日出生,小名蘭蘭,出生於中國貴州省貴陽市。謝母姓樂,出貴陽名門,外祖父為當地著名學者,家庭富裕開明。謝父為樂家之學生,擅長音律,家庭之薰陶也是日後謝景蘭步入音樂殿堂之重要因素。

 

1928

隨父母遷居上海。

 

1929

隨父母定居杭州。謝家因不習慣大都市暄鬧的生活而遷居西湖畔。謝父在西湖葛嶺下購買土地,興蓋花園別墅,從此安居於此。謝景蘭此時就讀於附近美國教會創辦的弘道學校,舞蹈和音樂才華受到極大肯定。

 

1932

謝父買下鋼琴供長女練習。謝景蘭在課餘勤練鋼琴,並展現音樂才華。

 

1935

因為就讀於杭州藝專的四表姐的關係,謝景蘭初識就讀於此的趙無極,趙無極為她繪製《蘭蘭》肖像油畫。

 

1937

因日軍南侵,八月謝景蘭全家由杭州返回貴陽。同年謝母病逝。

 

1938

杭州藝專由江西內遷至湖南沅陵,與北平藝專合校。趙無極前往貴陽探視喪母的謝景蘭、徵求謝父同意後,謝景蘭至湖南沅陵就讀杭州藝專音樂系。

 

1941

因趙無極祖父病逝,按照傳統舊俗不能成婚,於是在六月十九日,謝景蘭與趙無極在香港註冊結婚。同年趙無極繪製油畫《新婚》。

 

1943

趙無極自杭州藝專畢業後受聘為該校教師。夫婦二人在重慶的居所正好眺望嘉陵江,風景優美。獨子趙嘉陵出生於重慶。

 

1945

日本無條件投降。杭州藝專遷回杭州,在西湖畔重新開課。謝景蘭一家隨之遷回西湖畔的別墅。時有林風眠等文藝界人士前來聚談,觀賞湖上美景,重獲和平時光,此情此景難得。但此時趙無極嚮往西方文化,開始積極申請赴法留學,謝景蘭同時進入上海音樂專科學校深造。

 

1948

2月26日與趙無極一起離開上海,搭乘客輪前往法國,於四月一日抵達馬賽,當日乘車前往巴黎。此後開始學習法語,參觀美術館和畫廊,適應巴黎的新環境。

 

1949

定居巴黎蒙帕那斯附近的綠磨坊街。謝景蘭就讀於巴黎國立音樂學校,與米沃(Darius Mihaux)及米西安(Olivier Messian)等大師學習作曲。

 

1950

因受瑪莎葛蘭姆(Matha Graham)現代舞的吸引,到美國文化中心學習現代舞。同時結識家居附近的賈克梅蒂(Giacometti)、常玉等藝術家。謝景蘭與常玉在家世背景上相近,非常投緣。此時趙無極結識了詩人亨利‧米修(Henri Michaux),這位熱愛亞洲文化的長者在日後對謝景蘭的藝術發展也曾起到積極的推動作用。

 

1952

五十年代法蘭西畫廊主持人佩沃夫人(Myriam Prevot)在法國西南朗德地區的別墅是當時文藝界人士常常聚會的場所,在這裡,謝景蘭初次與音樂家馬賽(Marcel van Thienen)相遇。

 

1954

因為米修的推薦,與美籍法裔著名作曲家瓦亥斯(Edgar Varèse)在蒙帕那斯附近的小旅館裡學習最新潮的「電子音樂」。

 

1956

返回中國大陸,居住六個月後,首度體會中國文化的博大精深。

將獨子趙嘉陵帶往香港與趙無極團聚,準備同返巴黎。數日後,因故各奔一方。

 

1957

與趙無極離婚,遷居巴黎北郊聖瑞鎮(St.Ouen),開始創作抽象畫。

 

1958

同馬賽正式結婚,除了繼續從事電子音樂作曲外,由音樂的領域往繪畫方面奮力發展。將自己的名字由「蘭蘭」改為「拉蘭」。

 

1960

於巴黎Creuze畫廊舉行首度油畫個展。色調濃烈的抽象畫中可見符號式的筆調。

同年旅居巴西的畫家張大千前來巴黎展示新作,謝景蘭前去觀展。事後張大千以毛筆親題了一張照片回贈:「景蘭夫人來觀拙作展覽,攝影題贈留念。」

 

1961

正式加入音樂作詞、作曲和出版學會,成為公認的作曲家。

 

1963

於蘇格蘭首府愛登堡Paperback畫廊舉辦個展。

 

1965

繪畫創作進入瓶頸,常以水彩作畫。潛心研究中國古代山水畫,尤其是馬遠、夏珪等人的作品,同時勤讀莊子的道家思想。

 

1966

於巴黎Galerie 7畫廊舉辦個展,展出油畫和水彩,許多作品都是粗黑簡單的線條舞動於一大片留白裡,強調中國書法式的筆觸。此時受到中國傳統山水畫影響的風格日益明顯。荒誕劇作家尤涅斯科 (lonesco)為目錄作序。

 

1967

於法國東北史特勞斯堡的Helene de Beauvoir畫廊舉行個展。

 

1968

遷回巴黎市中心的沼澤區(Le Marais),畫面中開始出現月亮、山峰等具體的形象。

 

1970

創作的風景油畫色調柔和,以帶粉色調的灰、淺紫或者淺藍為主。山峰、日、月都帶著舞蹈的韻律。

 

1971

繪製三屏巨畫《突然的藍》,法國文化部購藏。從此開始一系列風景畫創作。同年分別在丹麥斯克堡(Silkerborg)與巴黎列普耶(Debriere)畫廊舉辦展覽,在風景畫作前進行舞蹈表演,同時播放自己作曲的配樂,這種集繪畫、音樂、舞蹈為一體的藝術形式被稱之為「綜合藝術」。

 

1972

法國北方Laon文化中心舉辦綜合藝術的個展,同年於巴黎卡登藝文空間表演。

 

1973

於巴黎Iris Clert畫廊舉辦個展,同年法國文化部特別撥給她一筆獎金,作為研究推廣音樂、舞蹈、繪畫合一的「綜合藝術」之用。

 

1975

於巴黎近郊Malakoff及St. Quentin-en Yvelines-Elancourt文化中心發表舞蹈創作,與後者定期合作至1983年為止。購入巴黎東郊丁香鎮廢棄工廠,裝修整理成工作室。

 

1979

於巴黎高美城文化中心和馬賽舉辦雙人展。

 

1981

和馬賽於Montbeliard及Auxerre兩城文化中心舉行雙人展。

六月,美國三藩市州立大學教授兼藝術評論家許介煜先生前來造訪,並寫下關於謝景蘭創作歷程及綜合藝術特性的文章。

十二月中旬至隔年二月,貝藍畫廊(Galerie Bellint)為謝景蘭舉辦個展,目錄序文由巴黎市立現代美術館館長周弗華(Andre Berne Joffroy)撰寫。展覽取得良好反響。

 

1982

於巴黎Bellint畫廊舉辦個展。同年貝德羅女士發表《中國當代繪畫研究——拉蘭》。

 

1983

於聖岡丹(Saint-Quentin-en-Ycelines-Elancourt)文化中心舉辦個展。

 

1986

因為頻繁的亞洲旅行,這個時期謝景蘭的繪畫創作有所減少。 畫風回歸抽象。

 

1990

五月,由歐亞文化交流協會同巴黎皮耶.卡登藝文空間(Espace Cardin)聯合為謝景蘭舉辦大型個展,市長希哈克為展覽目錄撰寫序文。展覽現場除投放作品幻燈片外,還播放謝景蘭所譜寫的樂曲。展出1984年的作品《緬懷亨利·米修》和1985年的作品《向瓦亥斯致敬》表達對兩位故友的懷念。

在蔚藍海岸的金合歡鎮開闢新工作室。

 

1992

常住金合歡鎮。法國文化部首度於6月12日至14日舉辦「詩歌節」,巴黎聖母院挑選保羅克洛岱(Paul Claudel)作主題,而巴黎國立吉梅美術館(Muse Guimet)在這三天推出亞洲各國的詩歌。謝景蘭是惟一發表新畫作與法文詩歌的華人代表。

 

1994

參加蔚藍海岸港鎮勒拉翁杜之「三位女藝術家聯展」

 

1995

四月,謝景蘭因車禍意外逝世。

Xie Jinglan, nicknamed Lalan (formerly "Lanlan"), was born in Guizhou, China in 1921 and brought up by a scholarly family. Her grandfather was a famous scholar and her father was a traditional Chinese literati. At a young age, Lalan had a musical gift and had the opportunity to cultivate her talent thanks to her family’s support of the arts and academia. When Lalan was seven, she and her family moved to Shanghai and soon thereafter, moved to Hangzhou where she entered the Music Department of the Hangzhou School of Art in 1937. During her time in Hangzhou, Lalan met Zao Wou-Ki. In 1941, they married in Hong Kong and in 1948, the couple travelled to Paris to start a new phase of life together.

 

Finding themselves in the centre of the art world in the late 1940's, the couple quickly became enamoured with France’s artistic metropolis and world-famous museums. Lalan and Zao settled into a studio in Paris Montparnasse where they became neighbors with Swiss artist Alberto Giacometti and befriended artists Sanyu, Georges Mathieu and Pierre Soulages, as well as the poet Henri Michaux who had helped both Lalan’s and Zao Wou-Ki’s artistic development.

 

Lalan continually pursued her passion in music, while Zao Wou-Ki’s career in the visual arts progressed. During this period, Lalan studied music composition at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris, and later, she studied modern dance at the American Cultural Centre after watching a documentary on Martha Graham. As mentioned, the poet Henri Michaux was a supportive figure in Lalan’s artistic growth and he introduced her to the distinguished and avant-garde American-French electronic composer Edgard Varèse who offered Lalan the opportunity to learn about electronic music. As a result, this experience led to Lalan’s realization of her genuine passion to express her inner world of artistry.

 

In 1957, Lanlan divorced Zao Wou-Ki and moved to St. Ouen in the north suburb of Paris. One year later, she married Marcel Van Thienen, a French musician, and changed her name from “Lanlan” to Lalan. From then on, she started a new life as an artist, devoting herself to painting, music, dance and poetry.

 

Lalan never ceased to paint with vibrance and spirit until an accident took her life in 1995. Most significant to her work was the conveyance of her intuitive artistic vision and the freedom of self-expression.

 

Lalan’s works are collected by the Culture Ministry of France, the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, the Shanghai Art Museum, the Macau Museum of Art, etc.

 

 

 

Biographical Timeline

 

1921

Xie Jinglan, nickname Lanlan, was born in the city of Guiyang, Guizhou Province on September 14. Her mother grew up in an illustrious family in Guiyang. The family, surnamed Yue, was wealthy and liberal-minded. Lanlan's maternal grandfather was a renowned scholar in the locality, and her father, once a pupil of the Yue's, excelled in temperament. Such family cultivation proved to be an important factor contributing to her entry into the music world years later.

 

1928

The family moved to Shanghai.

 

1929

The family moved to Hangzhou. Intolerant of the hubbub of city life, they chose to live by the picturesque West Lake. Lanlan's father purchased a piece of land at the foot of the Ge Hill, had a house and garden built, and the family settled down. Lanlan attended an American missionary school nearby, the Hong Dao School, where her gift for dancing and music was fully appreciated.

 

1932

Lanlan's father bought her a piano. After school, she would practice hard, showing a flair for music.

 

1935

Through her fourth cousin sister, a student at the Hangzhou Art College, Xie met Zao Wuo-ki, also a student at the same college, who painted an oil portrait of her, Lanlan.

 

1937

As the Japanese invaders pushed southward, the family returned to Guiyang, in August. Lanlan's mother passed away.

 

1938

The Hangzhou Art College moved from Jiangxi Province to Yuanling, Hunan Province and merged with the Beiping Art College. Zao Wuo-ki tripped to Guiyang to visit Lanlan who was bereaved of her mother. With her father's permission, Lanlan moved to Yuanling and studied in the music department of the Hangzhou Art College.

 

1941

Zao Wuo-ki's grandfather passed away. As the traditional customs forbade weddings, Xie and Zao registered for marriage in Hong Kong. In the same year Zao painted The Wedding in oils.

 

1943

After graduation Zao was engaged by the Hangzhou Art College as a teacher. The couple lived in Chongqing. Their house commanded a breathtaking view of the Jialing River. Their only son was born there, hence his name Jialing.

 

1945

Japan surrendered unconditionally. The Hangzhou Art College moved back to Hangzhou and resumed school by the West Lake. Xie Jing-lan's family also returned to theirhouse by the lake, where art people, Lin Feng-mian among them, would happily gathered, chatting, savoring the beautiful view of the lake. A time of peace was back. It was really hard-earned. However, Zao Wou-ki yearned for the western culture. He began his application for an entry visa to France. Meanwhile Lanlan entered the Shanghai Music College for further study.

 

1948

On February 26, the couple boarded the ocean liner "André Lebon", leaving Shanghai for France. They arrived in Marseilles on April 1 and drove to Paris on the same day. Then a period of acculturation ensued, in which they learnt French, visited galleries and museums.

 

1952

In the 50's, the curator of the Gallery of France, Madame Myriam Prevot had a villa in Lande in south west France. It was then the artists' favorite haunt where Lanlan met Marcel van Thienen, a musician, for the first time.

 

1954

Henri Michaux recommended Lanlan to Edgar Varèse, a renowned American-French composer, under whom Lanlan studied avant-garde "electronic music" in an inn near Montparnasse.

 

1956

LanIan was permitted to return to Mainland China. Six months' stay awakened her to the extensiveness and profoundness of the Chinese culture. Lanlan took her only son to join Zao Wou-ki in Hong Kong, planning to return to Paris together. Days later, they separated for some reasons.

 

1957

Xie Jing-lan divorced Zao Wou-ki. She moved to St. Ouen in the north suburb of Paris and took up abstract painting.

 

1958

Xie Jing-lan married Marcel van Thienen. While working on electronic music, she began her venture into the world of painting. She changed her name from Lanlan to Lalan.

 

1960

Lalan gave her first solo exhibition of oil paintings at the Creuze Gallery in Paris. In those strong colored abstract paintings, unmistakable was her style which featured calligraphic symbols.

 

Zhang Da-qian, a painter sojourning in Brazil, exhibited his new works in Paris. Lalan specially paid a visit. On a photo presented to her as a gift, Zhang Da-qian inscribed with a writing bush "To Ms. Jing-lan. This photo was taken when you graced my humble show."

 

1961

Lalan was formally admitted into the Music, Lyrics, Composition & Publishing Society, becoming an acknowledged composer.

 

1963

She had a solo exhibition at the Paperback Gallery in Edinburgh, the capital of Scotland.

 

1965

Her painting career came to a bottle neck, with watercolors as the mainstay. She strenuously studied the ancient Chinese landscapes, especially the works by Ma Yuan and Xia Gui, and assiduously read the Zhuangzi, questing for the Taoist ideology.

 

1966

She held a solo exhibition at Galerie 7 in Paris, displaying oil and water colors. Many paintings featured simple lines, bold and dark, dancing in a wide blank space with emphasis on the brush work of the Chinese calligraphy. Now her style which was influenced by Chinese traditional landscapes grew steadily distinct. Lonesco, an absurdist, wrote the preface to the catalog.

 

1967

She had a solo exhibition at the Helene de Beauvoir Gallery in Strasbourg in north east France.

 

1968

She moved back to Le Marais in downtown Paris. Concrete images for the first time appeared in her tableau.

 

1970

Subdued colors were used in her oil landscapes, mainly pinkish grey, light purple or light blue. The peeks, the sun, the moon all abounded with rhythmic charms of dancing.

 

1971

She painted the three-folded huge opus Sudden Blue, which was purchased by the Culture Ministry of France as a permanent museum article. This triggered a series of landscapes. She gave exhibitions in Silkerborg of Denmark and at the Debriere Gallery in Paris. She gave dancing performances against a backdrop of her landscapes, accompanied by the music she herself composed. This art form which blended painting, music and dancing together was known as “integrated art”.

 

1972

She gave a solo exhibition of integrated art at the Laon Culture Center in North France and gave performances at Espace Cardin in Paris.

 

1973

She gave a solo exhibition at the Iris Clert Gallery in Paris. The Culture Ministry of France made a special award to her to encourage the study and the development of "integrated art" which merged music, dancing and painting into one.

 

1975

She staged dancing performances at Malakoff in a suburb of Paris and the St.Quentin-en Yvelines-Elancourt Culture Center. The co-operation with the latter continued till 1983. She bought a disused factory in Les Lilas in the east suburb of Paris and turned it into studios.

 

1979

Lalan and Marcel gave a duo exhibition at the Maison de la culture des Hauts de Belleville in Paris.

 

1981

The couple had duo exhibitions at the culture centers in Montbeliard and Auxerre. In June Lalan gave an interview to Dr. Xu Jie-yu, a professor and art critic from the State University of San Francisco, America, who wrote a series of articles on Lalan's experiences of creation and the characteristics of integrated art. From mid-December to February 1982, Galerie Bellint arranged a solo exhibition for her. Dr. Andre Berne Joffroy, curator of the Municipal Modern Arts Gallery, wrote the preface to the catalog. The exhibition was highly acclaimed.

 

1982

Lalan had a solo exhibition at Bellint Gallery in Paris. "A Study of the Contemporary Painting of China----Lalan" by Madame Danielle Berthelot was published.

 

1983

She held a solo exhibition at the Culture Center of Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines-Elancourt in west of Paris.

 

1986

This period saw a decrease in Lalan's painting production as she made frequent tours in Asia. She painted The Entwined Twigs, showing a return to abstractionism.

 

1990

In May,the Euro-Asian Cultural Exchange Association and the Espace Cardin in Paris jointly hosted a grand solo exhibition for her. M. Jacques Chirac, mayor of Paris at that time, wrote the preface to the colored deluxe catalog. The exhibition showed slides of her works and played the music she had composed. To the Memory of Henri Michaux (1984) and A Salute to Edgar Varese (1985) gave full expression to her profound memory of these deceased friends. She bought a villa at Bormes-les-Mimosas by the azure beach and set up a new studio.

 

1992

Lalan usually lived in Bormes-les Mimosas. From June 12 to14 a "Poetry Festival" sponsored for the first time by the Culture Ministry of France was held at Notre-Dame de Paris, which selected Paul Claudel as the theme. In the three days period the Musee Guimet of Paris exhibited poems of Asian countries. Lalan was the only Chinese representative who put forth new paintings and French poems.

 

1994

Lalan participated in the “Joint Exhibition of Three Female Artists” at Le Lavandou.

 

1995

April, Lalan died in a car crash.