生平

薛松於1965年出生於中國安徽,於1988在上海戲劇學院舞臺美術系畢業。薛松被譽為中國波普藝術(Pop Art)最重要的藝術家之一,也是「新海派」藝術家代表人物,擅長將東方與西方、歷史記憶與當下現實、傳統文化與現代觀點連接起來。

 

薛松最初的藝術實驗始於1980年代。當時中國正值改革開放,現代藝術運動如火如荼,波普藝術等挑戰傳統美學的思想啟發了不少中國藝術家。受羅伯特‧勞森伯格(Robert Rauschenberg,1925-2008)的早期拼貼作品影響,他在畢業那年開始嘗試拼貼畫,早期作品主要呈現抽象和表現主義。

 

1991年在畫室的一場火災意外成為了他創作生涯轉變的契機。從此,「燃燒」和「拼貼」成為薛松獨一無二的藝術手法。薛松的作品,是以火焰和灰燼為媒介,通過拼貼手段,把形形色色的印刷品殘片組合成全新的形象世界,並廣泛涉獵社會、政治、傳統、人文、時尚、審美等不同議題。 微觀與宏觀的矛盾,造型與內容的衝突,在他的畫面上不斷地製造出疏離和變異的戲劇化效果。他的繪畫,是對繪畫本體的解構和再造。

 

踏入21世紀,薛松的創作逐漸回歸抽象性,呈現出在理智與情感、哲思與詩意、幾何化與書寫式抽象等語境上的豐富表達。

 

薛松曾於上海美術館、上海龍美術館、上海寶龍美術館、西安美術館、新加坡 MOCA 當代美術館、日本上野森美術館等舉行個展。作品獲中國美術館、上海美術館、龍美術館、香港M+美術館、美國波士頓美術館、南比爾現代大學亞太博物館、德國波恩現代藝術博物館、瑞士尤倫斯藝術基金會、瑞士烏利·希克收藏、比爾蓋茲藝術基金會、法國卡地亞藝術基金會、可口可樂公司亞太總部、摩根大通銀行亞太總部、瑞聯銀行(UBS)、美獅美高梅等國際重要收藏家收藏。

作品
風格

表現主義,拼貼和抽象表現時期 (1988 至1993年)

薛松的創作生涯始於1988年,早期的作品風格主要以表現主義和抽象為主,試圖打破傳統寫實造型的束縛。 1990年薛松工作室火災,他身處廢墟現場,眼看滿地灰燼,受此啟發,逐漸確立他的藝術語言,運用圖像拼貼和混合灰燼的顏料,逐漸形成了其固定的創作手法。這一時期的作品風格更富抽象性。

 

文化波普 (1994年始)

薛松敏銳地把握了20世紀90年代末中國對外開放的深化和大都市的興起,在全球流行和新消費文化的影響下,引入了波普藝術的手法,通篇使用焚燒後的大量現成印刷品碎屑,並拼貼構成畫面。這是他對拼貼手法的技術貢獻,豐富和發展了波普藝術的語言形式。薛松所挪用的現成公共圖像和文字涉獵範圍廣泛,視覺主題遍及當代社會生活中具重要作用,或引起廣泛關注的對象和話題,呈現一種文化和人文性的波普藝術風格,深受好評。

 

新山水 (1997年始)

山水是中國藝術中永恆的題材,薛松以波普的視覺語⾔將其轉變為一種外在的形式框架,在其中拼貼展示不同內容,諸如:西方藝術史、中國書法、都市風景、當代流行圖像。外在山水的輪廓和內在多樣的拼貼共同形成了一種既全球又地域的多元聚合,隱然折射了當今中國都市文化中的「全球地域化」(Glocalization),即全球化下的地域性和地域下的全球化,二者互相對立且共融。

 

中西對話 (2000年始)

中西融合是中國現代化進程中不可忽視且充滿爭議的主題。薛松以混合拼貼和蒙太奇手法,在「中西對話」系列中思考二者之關係。該系列展現了當代中國人精神世界的雙重性:中、西文化思想的共同滋養,以及傳統和當代、精英和大眾的相互性等特質。

 

文字和書法 (2002年始)

「文字和書法」系列,既是薛松對早期文字拼貼作品的回望,也承接了他長期對中西文化交融問題的關切,是他近年作品回歸抽象性的發端。抽象和書法相互參照、轉化,最是令藝術家著迷。

 

大都市 (2005年始)

薛松的「大都市」系列作品,以城市景觀的新舊更替,人們在劇烈變動中的歡樂和迷茫、夢想和失落為主題,觀照20世紀末中國劇烈都市化進程的深刻影響,也呼應著上世紀20年代歐洲藝術家拼貼都市圖像的手法。

 

法自然 (2019年始)

「法自然」可理解作薛松對早期作品的抽象和表現性之回歸。生於碭山的薛松,童年時親近自然,也受當地老莊哲學熏陶。在經歷大都市繁華,走過波普及其所代表的消費主義後,「法自然」是藝術家「返璞歸真」,融匯自然與波普的嘗試。

簡歷
展覽
出版
報導
藝術博覽會

Xue Song 薛 松 b. 1965

Biography

Xue Song was born in Anhui, China in 1965, and graduated in 1988 from the Shanghai Theatre Academy's Department of Stage Design. One of the key artists of the Chinese Pop Art movement, Xue Song's work is also representative of the "New Shanghai School". His art traverses East and West, historical memory and reality, as well as traditional culture and contemporary viewpoints.

 

Xue Song's initial artistic experiments began in the 1980s, a time when China was rapidly transforming and opening up to the world, and the modernisation of its art world was in full swing. Ideas that challenged traditional aesthetics, such as Pop Art, inspired many Chinese artists. Influenced by the early collage works of Robert Rauschenberg (1925-2008), Xue Song began to experiment with collage in his graduation year, and his early works were predominantly executed in abstract and expressionist styles.

 

A studio fire accident in 1991 was the turning point for Xue Song's artistic career. Fire and collage consequently became his trademark techniques, with flames and ashes used to transform disparate printed fragments into an image that addresses wider issues such as society, politics, tradition, humanities, fashion and aesthetics. The paradox between the microscopic and the macroscopic, as well as the tension between form and content, creates a dramatic vacillation between alienation and metamorphosis in Xue Song's paintings. His works simultaneously deconstruct and reconstruct the essence of painting itself.

 

At the turn of the 21st century, Xue Song's creations returned to their abstract roots, but remained richly expressive in reasoning and emotion, philosophy and poetry, geometric and calligraphic abstraction.

 

Xue Song has been honoured with solo exhibitions at prominent institutions such as Shanghai Art Museum, Shanghai's Long Museum, Shanghai's Powerlong Art Museum, Xi'an Art Museum, Singapore's Museum of Contemporary Arts, and Tokyo's Ueno Royal Museum.

 

His works form part of important collections, including the National Art Museum of China, Shanghai Art Museum, Shanghai's Long Museum, Hong Kong's M+, Boston's Museum of Fine Arts, USC Pacific Asia Museum, Bonn Museum of Modern Art, Switzerland, the Guy & Myriam Ullens Foundation, the Uli Sigg Collection, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Fondation Cartier, Coca-Cola's Asia Pacific headquarters, JP Morgan's Asia Pacific headquarters, UBS and MGM Cotai.

Works
Artistry

Expressionism, Collage and the Abstract Expressionist Period (1988-1993)

Xue Song's artistic career began in 1988. Abandoning traditional realism, his early works were predominantly expressionist and abstract in style. Visiting his studio after its destruction by fire in 1990, Xue Song saw ashes scattered throughout the ruins. It inspired a new creative method that mixed ashes with paint and collaged images to form a wholly new visual style. The works of this period were still largely abstract in nature.

 

Cultural Pop (1994 onwards)

Xue Song keenly grasped the significance of China's opening to the outside world and the rise of its metropolises in the late 1990s. Influenced by globalism and consumerist culture, he introduced Pop Art techniques and collaged incinerated printed scraps to create his images. His technical contributions to the technique of collage have enriched and developed the visual lexicon of Pop Art. The readymade images and texts appropriated by Xue Song cover a wide range of important contemporary social themes, objects and topics, presenting a cultural and humanist form of Pop Art that has received widespread acclaim.

 

New Landscapes (1997 onwards)

Landscapes are an enduring element of traditional Chinese art. Xue Song transformed landscapes into a formal framework, utilising Pop visual language to address different subjects such as Western art history, Chinese calligraphy, urban landscapes, and contemporary popular imagery. The contours of the landscape are delineated by diverse collaged elements, which unite to portray a multi-dimensional reality that is both global and local, an implicit reflection of the "glocalisation" of Chinese urban culture today, namely the globalisation of the local and the localisation of the global. These two forces act both in opposition to and in harmony with each other.

 

Dialogue between the East and West (2000 onwards)

The interdependence of China and the West is a sensitive and controversial topic in the story of China's modernisation. Xue Song uses a mix of collage and montage techniques to reflect on the relationship between the two powers in this series. The series presents the duality of the contemporary Chinese spiritual world, the symbiotic relationship between Chinese and Western cultural ideas, as well as the connections between the traditional and the contemporary, and the elites and the masses.

 

Text and Calligraphy (2002 onwards)

The "Text and Calligraphy" series not only revisits Xue Song's early text collage works, but also signals his long-term fascination with the integration of Chinese and Western cultures, and marks his return to abstraction. The mutual referencing and transformation of abstraction and calligraphy particularly fascinates the artist.

 

Metropolis (2005 onwards)

Xue Song's "Metropolis" series focuses on the replacement of old and new urban landscapes, and observes people's joy, confusion, dreams and losses amidst drastic changes engendered by China's rapid urbanisation at the end of the 20th century. These works also echo the way European artists collaged urban imagery in the 1920s.

 

Laws of Nature (2019 onwards)

"Laws of Nature" can be understood as Xue Song's return to the abstraction and expressionism of his earlier works. Born in Dangshan, Xue Song experienced a childhood in close proximity to nature, and was also influenced by the Daoist philosophy of Zhuangzi. After experiencing urban prosperity and the culture of consumerism referenced by Pop Art, this series represents the artist's return to nature and re-integration of organic elements with Pop Art.

Publications
Art Fairs