「我的作品從火中誕生,火燒是我的創作手段,
我使用燃燒過的圖片和燃燒後留下的灰燼構成我的作品。
從毀滅到重生,就像一個迴圈。
作品裡的圖像也經歷了一個再生的過程,
它從原有的意義中被釋放出來,被賦予新的理解。
我的作品將歷史記憶與當下現實、傳統文化與現代觀點連接起來。」

        薛松

 

在中國當代藝術領域,薛松的創作顯然是獨樹一幟的。這種獨特性主要體現在兩個方面:一是與眾不同的創作方法;二是作品的文化包容性、批判性和隱喻色彩。

將現成的圖像和文本進行選擇、拆解、焚燒、重組、拼貼、繪製,最終形成符合自己需求的新圖像,這既是薛松所特有的創作步驟,也是我們讀解其作品的必要過程。在外人看來貌似流水線般的製作程式,實則每一步驟裏都包含了藝術家基於當下文化與現實的歷史性思考和判斷,以及對包羅古今中外紛繁圖像的敏感把握和巧妙運用。正是這種由方法導引出意義的創作過程,讓薛松的藝術成為1990年代以來中國當代藝術不可缺的一個組成部分。

1990年那場火災後,薛松從廢墟中尋找到了屬於自己的藝術語言和創作方法。灰燼中收集的殘物經過重組和拼貼,薛松創作出了第一批具有個人色彩的實驗性作品。這些由個人生活記憶碎片組成的作品,既像是藝術家對過去的某種祭奠與告別,也預示著個人藝術風格上一種新的開始。

1990年代中期以來,薛松的藝術視野日益開闊,除了對文革時期標誌性符號的挪用和改裝,城市時尚、流行文化符號、數碼科技也成為他表現的主體,影視明星、可口可樂瓶子、阿拉伯數字等,均被他以焚燒和拼貼的方式組合。

2000年代以後的作品,薛松借用了很多中國人所熟悉的充滿抒情色彩、情感溫暖且具有東方審美內涵的圖像和文字作為畫面主體形象,如瀟灑飛揚的草書筆劃、文人情懷的豐子愷漫畫。

由2012年開始,薛松更趨成熟的創作體現在《與大師對話》系列中。羅斯科 (Mark Rothko)、達米恩·赫斯特 (Damien Hirst)、馬列維奇 (Kazimir Malevich)、 蒙德里安 (Piet Mondrian) 等大師的作品在薛松的巧妙安排下機智幽默地重現。而灰燼這種材料的獨特性更加發揮得盡致。他將灰燼與顏料混合,形成畫面上中國傳統繪畫的線條,強而有力地重疊在大師經典作品跳躍的色塊上,用創意及趣味消化西方無處不在的影響。

薛松將傳統文化解構,利用這些文化符號重構新的文化意涵,由現實切入歴史,或以歷史隱喻現實,造就另一個觀看角度,讓觀眾對當代社會及歷史文化重新思考。同時,透過這種徹底的解構和重組,薛松探索到中國文化最深層的基因,並掲示它們在社會急劇變遷期間的演化。

 


 

藝術評論

 


「我想突破中國傳統,並超越西方現代主義,說來容易,想要做到可就非常困難。」這是薛松對自己藝術追求的最好口頭表達。我想告訴大家的是,薛松從來都沒有拋棄中國的歷史與文化傳統,他也從來都認真吸收西方優秀的藝術語言。他從來都沒有刻意迎合商業和時尚,但他卻以自己的方式創造了新的時尚。他令人信服地突破了中國傳統,並成功地超越了西方波普。

 

高 嶺 藝評家

 

薛松的藝術語言建構在「解構」與「再造」的基本語法上,通過剪切、燒灼、拼貼與組合等基本手段,他把巨量的圖像和文字殘片重新組合,造就了觀看與思考的全新方式。每一張碎片上的形象在空間上都是獨立存在的,在資訊上卻又是殘缺不全的,局部在整合著總體的同時卻又顛覆了總體,資訊在建構著形象的同時卻又解構了形象。宏觀與微觀的矛盾,形式與內容的衝突,在他的畫面上不斷地製造出各種豐富的戲劇效果。多年以來,薛松持續關注著歷史圖像、文化經典和流行時尚,他借用波普藝術和超現實主義的手法,講述著穿越古今、時空交錯的故事。他的創作,為當代繪畫藝術的表達方式提供了一種具有特殊意義的價值參照。


李旭 藝評家、策展人 2011年

 


薛松式的普普風加入了身為中國藝術家的東方意象,最後呈現出其創作深具隱喻、嘲諷、批判、質疑,及依戀、順從、幽默的氛圍,在作品傳達的意涵上,融匯歷史文化的過去與生活的當下,以及寓意未來,隨手可拾的元素在薛松賦予新思維後,意圖傳達更多元的新觀念。法國雕刻大師羅丹曾說:「所謂大師是,他們用自己的眼睛去看別人見過的東西,在別人司空見慣的東西上,能夠發掘出美來。」也因此薛松的創作和世界的思潮合流,但又未桎亡傳統文化,在現代藝術領域中萌發出藝術新芽來。


張雨晴   策展人
節錄自上海美術館《回首:解構經典 — 薛松作品集》2009

"My work is born in fire. Burning is the means by which I create.

I use burned pieces of paper and ashes from burning to construct my work.

From destroying to rebirth, life runs a circle.

The images in my work have also gone through a circle when they are "reborn".

They have been freed from their original meanings and given new meanings.

My work connects historical memories with realities, contemporary

culture, and modern perspectives."

 

Xue Song

 

In the realm of Chinese contemporary art, Xue Song's creation is obviously unique. The uniqueness is mainly represented in two aspects: first, a creation method different from the majority; and secondly, the cultural tolerance, criticism and metaphorical colour of his works.

 

The treatment of ready made pictorial images and text prints through selection, disintegration, burning, restructuring, collage and drawing to eventually produce the new image which meets his own requirement is both the special creation steps of Xue Song as well as the necessary process for us to read and understand his works. The production procedure which seems like pipeline to the outsiders actually includes, in each of its steps, the historical thinking and judgment of the artist on the basis of current culture and reality and, also, the sensitive grasp and clever application of the complex images which embrace all kinds of old, new, Chinese and foreign elements. It is precisely this kind of creation process, in which meanings are generated from the production method, which makes Xue Song's art an integral part of the Chinese contemporary art since the 1990s.

 

Xue Song's early art experiment started from the later half of the 1980s. At that time, the modern art movement of the Chinese art sector was flourishing like a strong fire. The ideas of establishing something new or different and creating new art were burning hot in many young people who were eager for art reform. Xue Song was no exception. From the prints he was able to contact at that time, which provided very limited introduction of the Western contemporary art, he searched for supplies of nutrients. He kept interactions and mutual encouragement with his close comrades in art, and he put expression methods which might be suitable for him through trials.

 

Since the fire in 1990, Xue Song has found his own art language and creation method from the ruins. Through the restructuring of, and the making of collage from, the residues collected from the ashes, Xue Song created the first batch of experimental works with individual color. Composed of the fragments of personal life memories, these works seemed on one hand to be a certain kind of libation and farewell of the artist for and to the past and they also foretold a new start of the artist's personal art style.

 

Since the mid-1990s, Xue Song's art vision has become increasingly broader. In addition to the appropriation and conversion of the typical symbols of the Cultural Revolution period, urban fashion, the symbols of Pop culture and digital technology also became the subjects of his expression. The pictures of movie stars, Coca-Cola bottles, Arabic numerals and so on were composed by him by the method of burning and collage.

 

Xue Song's works after 2000, Xue Song borrows many images and words full of lyrical color and warm emotion, which possess the Oriental aesthetic connotation, and with which the Chinese people are familiar. For example, the freely rolling cursive strokes, Feng Zikai's cartoons which are filled with literati sentiments

 

Starting from 2012, Dialogue with the Masters series demonstrates a mature stage of Xue Song's artistic development. The essence of Mark Rothko, Damien Hirst, Kazimir Malevich, Piet Mondrian and other masters are wittily applied in his work. The use of ashes is even more unique. He mixed ashes with pigments to form the lines of traditional Chinese paintings which are superimposed on the classic works of masters. It reflects the artist's attempt to digest the ubiquitous Western influences through his own creativity and taste.


Xue Song disintegrates traditional culture, and uses these cultural symbols to reconstruct a new cultural meaning. He either interprets history from the viewpoint of reality or uses history as metaphors for the reality, to create another angle for audience to rethink the history and culture of contemporary society. At the same time, through this kind of comprehensive dissection and reconstruction, Xue Song explores the most fundamental genes of the Chinese culture and discovers their evolution during a period of rapid social changes.

 

 

CRITICAL PRAISE


 

“I want to break Chinese traditions, and surpass Western modernism. It is much easier said than done.” This is probably the best description of Xue Song’s pursuit of art, as directly expressed by the artist’s own utterance. What I want to tell everyone is that Xue Song has never given up the history of China, nor China’s culture and traditions; he has also always taken in the art language of the West with the purest of heart; he has never deliberately entertained businesses or accommodated the world of fashion; but he has created a new fashion in his own way. Xue Song has convincingly broken through Chinese traditions and successfully surpassed Western Pop art.

 

Gao Ling, art critic


Xue Song’s art language is structured based on the grammar of “deconstruction” and “reconstruction”. Through the basic techniques of cutting, burning, piecing together, and regrouping, he takes an enormous amount of fragments of images and texts, rearranges these fragments, and devices a brand new way of viewing and thinking. The image of each fragment exists independently in its space, but is isolated and incomplete in its information. When the parts come together to form the whole, the parts are simultaneously disrupting the whole; when information constructing the image, the information is simultaneously deconstructing the image. The paradox of the macro view and the micro view, the conflict between the form and the content, are all continuously producing a rich variety of dramatic effects. For many years, Xue Song has been paying constant attention to historical pictures, cultural classics, and trendy fashions; he uses pop art and surrealism to traverse the past and the present, and to tell the stories of space-time transformation. His creation provides a way of expression for today’s art of painting, and a valuable reference.


Li Xu, Art Critic and Curator, 2011

 

“In his pop art, as a Chinese artist, Xue Song’s injects Eastern images into it. Eventually, he creates a metaphoric, ironic, criticizing, suspicious, dependent, obedient, and humorous atmosphere. Concerning the contents communicated in Xue Song’s works, the blending of past and present in history and culture, and the symbolic future offers him abundant elements and new thinking to convey his multidimensional and innovative ideas. Rodin, the renowned French engraver said, “A master can see the things people have seen with his own eyes. In addition, they can discover beauty from ordinary objects people see.” Likewise, Xue Song’s work merge global trends with traditional culture, which he never forgets, to bring forth new art on the basis of modern art.”


Chang Yu-ching, Curator
Extract from  Looking Back: Deconstruction Classics at Shanghai Art Museum in Shanghai, 2009