金墨無界——李華弌近作展: 大館 F 倉展室

2021年11月25日 - 12月12日

敬請預約

策展人: 馮戈
展場設計: 梁志天設計集團
燈光設計: 關永權燈光設計

 

季豐軒畫廊欣然呈獻《金墨無界——李華弌近作展》,展出李華弌於2018至2021年間創作的12幅作品,呈現他將金箔媒材融合老練筆墨的高超技巧,造出有無限動力、出人意表的畫面。同時,除了金箔以外,藝術家的媒材運用也延展到銀箔,畫面泛出有如月色的光,充滿傳統中國文人獨有的詩意浪漫。展覽將於2021年11月25日至12月12日在香港中環大館17座F 倉展室中展出。

 

1948 年生於上海,李華弌是最出色的中國當代水墨畫家之一。他六歲開始學習中國海派水墨,師從上海著名畫家王季眉,十六歲追隨張充仁接受西方素描及繪畫訓練。1982年移居三藩市,1984年於三藩市藝術學院獲取藝術碩士學位。在90年代初,受北宋大師李成(919–967)、范寬(約950–1032)及郭熙(約1020–1090)的啟發,他逐漸建立個人獨特風格——紀念碑式的紙本山水。他的作品展示了如何透過當代手法去體現中國畫偉大傳統的蛻變,走向現代化。

 

到2005年,李華弌的紙本虛幻山水已發展了近十年,他萌發在金屏風著墨的想法。他發覺中國水墨畫有一個掣肘: 畫面的面積放大會令美感流失。於是他開始摸索如何增加作品的體積空間感,令大尺寸的中國畫生動有趣。他嘗試了兩個方向: 一是將卷軸和屏風畫拼合,成為大型「重屏山水」裝置,二則在金屏風上創作水墨畫,以替代紙本。在2008年,他完成了第一幅日本古董金屏風水墨。自此,他的藝途兩路俱發,原有的紙本水墨與運用金箔物料的新手法同步並進。直至2018年,在過去10年間他創作了共4幅金箋紙本和26幅日本古董金屏風作品。

 

2018年,藝術家進一步挑戰自己,擴大金箔系列的領域。鋪了金箔的屏風表面不容易吸墨,畫家需要一筆一筆勾勒線條,難以發揮灑潑畫風。於是,李氏不再在金箔落筆,改為在京都專家製作的手工絹本上構圖。之後在樹幹和樹枝上貼滿金箔,造出與金屏風畫不同的韻味。這個新手法使畫上的光澤變了從畫中的樹顯現,而非來自畫背本身,令樹身成了奪目的主角。在一些作品上,藝術家用幼沙混進畫面貼了金的部分,營造出理想的質感,增加畫面視覺層次。

 

雖然這個新創作手法解除了在金屏風表面著墨的限制,讓畫家自由地去發掘更抽象的風格,但這些近作依然保留著金箔系列的核心元素。它們繼續呈現一個充滿著光、無限空間和無盡時間來去的虛幻世界,而如魔術般的表達技巧令這錯覺無比真實。李華弌充滿戲劇性的畫面佈局,提醒了觀者藝術家與解構主義的淵源,同時,他能將現代主義的價值觀有建設性地組合起來,令他超越後現代主義,為中國水墨畫開拓一個全新方向。

 

雖然李華弌的作品風格融合當代藝術觀念和手法,但他的整體藝術理念一直承載著中國傳統文人畫的核心精神。傳統中國文人畫並非要描繪客觀世界的外貌,而是展示繪畫人本身的氣質,包含他的學識、信念和文化品味,總結他的學養和個人品格修煉。金箔系列裡松樹的形象是個典型實例,它們的形態都注滿優雅和高尚的氣度,而且更被細心地佈置在一個暗示著永生的金色無盡空洞,直指一個德高望重、學識淵博的傳統中國文人的內在精神。每一幅作品都揭開李華弌心中理想世界的一角。在那一個國度,人不斷學習,講究自律,求義求仁,對自然抱理性而謙卑的態度,相信天人合一,和諧共存,而這正是中國文化核心追求的最高境界,建基於中國三大哲學支柱——儒、釋、道的影響。

 

 


 

預約參觀

Infinities between Ink and Gold - Recent Works of Li Huayi: F Hall, Tai Kwun

25 Nov - 12 Dec 2021
BY APPOINTMENT

Curator: Edward Fung

Venue Design: Steve Leung Design Group

Lighting Consultant: Tino Kwan Lighting Consultants

 

Kwai Fung Hin Art Gallery is thrilled to present Infinites Between Ink and Gold – Recent Works of Li Huayi. The exhibition will showcase 12 pieces of Li's recent works from 2018-2021, showing his mastery in integrating gold foil with sophisticated ink and brushstrokes on silk. The result is both impactful and unpredictable. Li also expands his oeuvre with silver foil, which produces a unique moonshine-reminiscing luminescence, echoing the unique poetic romance in the culture of traditional Chinese literati. The exhibition takes place at the F Hall Studio in Tai Kwun, Central, Hong Kong from 25 November to 12 December, 2021.

Born in Shanghai in 1948, Li Huayi is one of the leading Chinese contemporary ink painters. At six years old, he started learning Shanghai School Chinese painting from Wang Jimei who was a renowned painter in Shanghai. At sixteen years old, he studied Western art under Zhang Chongren. He moved to San Francisco in 1982 and graduated from the San Francisco Academy of Art with a Master's degree two years later.

 

In the early 90s, with inspiration from the Northern Song dynasty masters like Li Cheng (919–967), Fan Kuan (ca.950-1032) and Guo Xi (ca.1020-1090), Li Huayi has established his unique style: monumental landscapes on paper. His works manifest the modernity mutation of the great tradition of Chinese painting through the lens of selected Western contemporary approaches.

 

In 2005, after developing 'illusive landscapes' on paper for nearly a decade, Li started the idea of painting with ink on gold-foiled screens. Having discovered the aesthetic limitations of scaling Chinese ink paintings, Li explored the way to expand the sense of space in his works, with the ambition to make large-scale Chinese paintings both interesting and vibrant. Li tried two directions: applications of ink paintings in multiple screen installations and painting on antique Japanese gold-foiled screens, and completed his first ink on gold foiled screen in 2008. Since then, Li's art journey evolved into two parallel tracks: the original ink on paper format and the new direction involving foiled materials. Up to 2018, in one decade, he completed 4 works on golden paper and 26 works of gold foiled screens.

 

In 2018, Li challenged himself in expanding the boundaries of his foiled series. As the gold-foiled surface does not absorb ink effectively, the painting process would require meticulous strokes one by one and limits application of the free painting styles. Thus, instead of painting on foiled background, he first outlines the composition on handmade silk produced by a specialist in Kyoto and afterwards laid gold foils on the tree body, resulting in a charm not seen in foiled screen works. In this new format, the luminosity of the painting comes from the tree in it rather than from its background, making the tree a prominent and iconic feature. In some works, the artist further increases the complexity of his pictorial expressions by blending the foiled area with fine sand to deliver various texture as the artist prefers.

 

While this new method of integrating gold foil with ink releases Li from the constraints of painting on antique gold foiled screen, allowing him free application of more abstract styles, these latest works nevertheless preserve the core elements of his foiled series. They continue to present an illusive world infused with light, limitless space and endless passage of time, in such a magical way to make it look more real than ever. The dramatic compositions of Li remind us of his roots in deconstructivism, however, his ability in a positive synthesis of Modernist values goes beyond post-modernism, opening an entirely new direction for Chinese ink painting.

 

Built upon contemporary artistic concept and approaches, Li's works nevertheless remain a carrier of the core spirit of traditional Chinese literati painting. They do not represent the external appearance of the physical world but rather express the painter's temperament, comprising his knowledge, belief and taste in culture, reflecting his accomplishments in learning and personal qualities cultivation. The pine trees in the foil series are an apt example; their postures are full of elegance and nobility, their setting – a bottomless gold void – reads immortality. Each work unfolds a corner of the ideal world perceived by Li Huayi, where man is in constant pursuit of learning, self-discipline, righteous thinking and humanity, and is taking a humble attitude towards nature, under the belief that man and nature can be in harmonies co-existence. It is a fairyland at the core of Chinese culture, founded upon the cross-influences of Confucianism, Buddhism and Taoism.

 

 


 

BOOK YOUR VISIT