乔治 · 马修 1921-2012

乔治.马修 (Georges Mathieu) 于1921年1月27日生于法国北部滨海布洛涅,家族从事银行业。 12岁时迁居至凡尔赛,中学时习希腊语、俄语和西班牙语。 1941年,马修于里尔大学攻读法律,却对文学及哲学尤感兴趣,获英文学士学位。 1942年,他自学绘画,主要创作风景画和肖像画,并开始探索非具象画。除了绘画,他更于中学教授英语,担任美国陆军翻译员,及于比亚里茨的美国军事大学任法语教授。

 

马修于1944年开始发展抽象风格。 1945年首次以实验性「滴流」技法绘画,比美国抽象主义画家杰克逊·波洛克(Jackson Pollock)1947年首次使用「滴画法」更早了两年。但马修很快转向他所创的「导管主义」(Tubism),直接从管状颜料挤出条状色料作画。

 

1947年,马修迁居巴黎。于美国船运公司United States Lines担任公共关系主管,同时继续探索绘画。为了反对枯涩冷漠的几何抽象风格,马修开创全新美学风格--「抒情抽象」,强调艺术家的直觉、自发性、爆发力,从艺术传统中得到自由解放。马修在巴黎卢森堡画廊筹办首个名为《想像》(L'Imaginaire)的群展,标志着「抒情抽象」的诞生。他同时与艺术评论家米歇尔·塔皮埃(Michel Tapié)密切合作策划展览,包括《HWPSMTB》(科莱特·阿兰迪画廊)、《白与黑》(两岛画廊)、《对抗力量》 (尼娜·多塞画廊,1951年)等,汇聚法国和美国抽象画家,奠定马修在欧美艺术界的贡献。

 

马修自五十年代初开始探索东方书法,亦为他的抒情抽象理论与创作提供重要灵感。 1950年,马修在巴黎勒内·德鲁因画廊(Galerie René Drouin)举办了首次个展。法国文化部长及作家马乐侯(André Malraux)赞叹「终于出了一位西方书法家」。 1952年,马修开始走进国际艺坛,随后在日本、美国、巴西、阿根廷、中东等全球不同地方展览。同时,马修将表演元素引入绘画之中,穿上戏服在观众的注视中绘制巨幅油画,启发了1960年代的行为艺术及偶发艺术(Happening)。在日本前卫艺术「具体派」领袖吉原治良发表的《具体美术宣言》(1956 年)中,赞誉及敬重马修的作品。

 

六、七十年代,马修的创作广为法国人民认识。他意识到艺术家对社会的主要职责,将创作拓展至生活层面,并参与不同合作项目,包括为哥白林织毯厂邀创作挂毯,受法国造币局委托设计10法郎硬币,为法国新电视频道Antenna 2设计官方台徽,为法国航空设计海报。

 

八十年代,马修的抒情抽象风格更趋成熟。从1985年开始,他的绘画变得更具爆发力和强烈情感,标志着其「宇宙变化」。他摒弃中心构图,将豪迈的力量及鲜明对比的色彩充满整个画面。

 

马修于2012年6月10日在法国布洛涅-比扬古(Boulogne-Billancourt)以91岁高龄逝世。马修一生曾举办逾170场展览,多次大型回顾展。他的作品获全球90多个重要艺术馆收藏,包括:纽约现代美术馆、纽约古根汉美术馆、芝加哥艺术学院、华盛顿赫希霍恩博物馆、巴黎庞比度艺术中心、巴黎国立现代艺术博物馆、巴塞尔艺术馆、伦敦泰特美术馆、东京现代美术馆等。

Georges Mathieu 喬治 · 馬修 1921-2012

Georges Mathieu was born to a family of bankers on January 27, 1921, in Boulogne-sur-Mer in Northern France. He moved to Versailles at age 12 and studied Greek, Russian, and Spanish at the lycée Hoche. In 1941, he studied English literature and law at the University of Lille. A self-taught painter, he began his artistic career in 1942, making mostly landscapes and portraits, and started to explore non-figurative paintings. Apart from being an artist, he had taught English, served as interpreter for the U.S. Army and worked as professor of French at the Université Americaine, Biarritz, France.

 

In 1944, Mathieu started to develop the style of abstraction. He executed his first abstract painting in drip techniques, two years before Jackson Pollock introduced his drip painting. He quickly came to favour Tubism, the technique of applying paint to the canvas directly from the tube that Mathieu invented.  

 

In 1947, Mathieu moved to Paris, where he worked as Director of Public Relations in the American company United States Lines but continued his pictorial exploration. In the same year, Mathieu initiated a newfound aesthetic termed "Lyrical Abstraction" to oppose the cold Geometric Abstraction. It highlighted the artists' intuition, spontaneity and explosiveness, which liberated art from all the traditions. He organised exhibitions to promote lyrical abstraction, such as exhibition L'imaginaire (The imaginary) at Galerie du Luxembourg in 1947. He also worked closely with art critic Michel Tapié to curate exhibitions, such as H.W.P.S.M.T.B. at Galerie Allendy, Paris (1948), White and Black at Galerie des Deux Îles (1948), and Véhémences confrontées  at Galerie Nina Dausset, Paris (1951), which visually pitted European Lyrical Abstraction artists against American Abstract Expressionists, marking Mathieu's important role between the European and the American art scenes.

 

Since the very beginning of the 1950s, Mathieu started to explore Eastern calligraphy, which was an important source of inspiration for his theories and creation of Lyrical Abstraction. In 1950, Mathieu had the first solo exhibition at Galerie René Drouin in Paris, where André Malraux, Minister of Culture in France and novelist, exclaimed, "Finally, a western calligrapher!" Since 1952, Mathieu began to exhibit internationally. In the 1950s, he travelled and painted in Japan, USA, Brazil, Argentina and Middle-East. Mathieu started to introduce the performative dimension to his paintings, executing large canvases before audiences while dressed in costume. It anticipated the Performance Art and Happenings in the 1960s. The manifesto of the Japanese Gutai movement in 1956 acknowledged their high regard for the techniques of Mathieu's work.

 

In 1960s to 1970s, Mathieu received overwhelming recognition in France. Mathieu became aware of the artist's major duties towards society and expanded his creation into applied arts, including tapestries created with the Manufacture Nationale des Gobelins, 10-franc coins issued by the French government, the official logo of a new TV channel Antenna 2, and a series of posters created with the airline company Air France.

 

In 1980s, Mathieu reached maturity of his lyrical principles. From 1985 onwards, his paintings became more explosive and emotional, marked the "cosmic turning point" which eliminated the central composition, and filled the entire canvas with intensive power and brilliant colours.

 

Georges Mathieu passed away on June 10, 2012 in Boulogne-Billancourt, France at the age of 91. He had held over 170 solo exhibitions. He had major retrospective exhibitions at Musée de la Ville de Paris (1963), the Grand Palais (1978), Galerie Nationale du Jeu de Paume in Paris (2002). His works are collected by more than 80 important museums around the world, including the Museum of Modern Art, New York; the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York; The Art Institute of Chicago; the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Washington, DC; the Centre Pompidou, Paris; Musée National d'Art Moderne, Paris; Kunstmuseum Basel, Basel; the Tate, London and Museum of Contemporary Art, Tokyo.