非常道—薛松近作展: 季豐軒

2022年9月6日 - 10月15日

季豐軒欣然呈獻「非常道 - 薛松近作展」,展出中國「波普」藝術家薛松逾二十幅由 2019 年起創作的「法自然」系列拼貼作品。薛松的創作是中西、古今、雅俗之間的碰撞與融合。他的作品從火中誕生,透過圖像的毀滅與再生,以拼貼構成一個既整體又多元的世界。是次展覽呈現薛松近年在創作的開悟及突破: 從圖像敍事方式轉到抽象形式,見證他對自然之道、物我關係的反覆思考,以及於藝術之道的追求。

 


  

預約參觀

 


 

 

薛松於 1965 年出生於中國安徽,為中國「波普藝術」最重要的藝術家之一。其成長階段正值中國改革開放的劇變時代,社會急速現代化,經濟轉型,物質主義興起,挑戰傳統美學的現代藝術運動如火如荼。身處紛繁的上海,薛松具有六十年代出生一代的文化特徵: 對歷史深刻反思、強烈時代感知、個人藝術追求,透過創作觀照社會,建立獨特面貌同時,與同代藝術家一起推進中國當代藝術的發展。

 

「我的作品自火中誕生。」 - 薛松

 

1990 年底,薛松工作室火災,意外地開啟了他創作的靈感閥門。他身處廢墟中,受燒焦的殘骸灰燼啟發,將這些材料重組拼合成全新圖象。從此,「焚燒」、「拼貼」、「解構」、「重組」成為薛松獨特的創作語言。

 

受羅伯特 ‧ 勞森伯格(Robert Rauschenberg, 1925-2008)的拼貼作品影響,薛松的視覺表達帶有強烈的波普藝術特徵: 強調的輪廓線和大膽色塊的拼貼。「拼貼」在二戰後成為西方波普藝術的主要手段之一,利用日常生活的現成物作為創作材料,反映戰後消費社會及大眾文化的興起。薛松挪用經典藝術作品、歷史圖片、書法樂譜、商業廣告等各種現成圖像及印刷品,進行拆解、焚燒、拼貼、混合灰燼,組合成屬於自己的形象世界。

 

直至 2019 年,回溯三十多年的藝術歷程,薛松的創作可分為五大主題:「文化波普」、「新山水」、「中西對話」、「文字與書法」、「大都市」系列。經過解構與重新建構,各種圖像在互為呼應或衝突之中被賦予全新的意義,藉此反映藝術家對東方與西方、歷史記憶與當下現實、傳統文化與現代觀念、全球化與個體等各種議題的思考及隱喻。

 

踏入 21 世紀,薛松的創作逐漸回歸抽象性,呈現在理智與情感、哲思與詩意、幾何化與書寫式抽象等語境上的豐富表達,尤其是次展覽中於 2019 年開始發展的「法自然」系列,為薛松一個正式回歸抽象、返璞歸真的新階段。

 

「從破毀到重生,生命輪迴不息。」 - 薛松

 

「法自然」出自《道德經》「道法自然」的哲學思想。意指宇宙天地間萬物運行均遵循「道」,即世界的本源,亦即規律本身。道之本性是自然而然,周而復始、往復循環。

 

薛松生於安徽碭山,童年時親近自然,也受當地老莊哲學薰陶。現在快將耳順之年的他經歷過大都會繁華、各式各樣政治經濟文化衝擊後,開始追求更明澄的狀態,在作品中刪繁就簡,從獨特而銳利的針對性表述,逐漸向內深層次開發。

 

薛松透過作品中圖像的毀滅與再生,在創作中思考著「自然之道」。他從自然中發現和提取圖像,以造詣精湛,掌控純熟的拼貼手段解構重組圖像。作品主題摒棄了所有可辨識的文化符號或歷史敘事,取而代之對自然、四季、節氣等的抽象表現,以至一種生命輪迴不息的意象。遠觀隱約可見水、火、葉脈、大理石和冰裂等意象及抽象的形式美。近看細察其標誌性的現成圖像文本拼貼。微觀與宏觀的矛盾,圖像與內容的衝突,在畫面上不斷地製造出疏離和變異的戲劇化效果。

 

中國繪畫抽象性的特徵在於似與非似之間,薛松的抽象作品並非如西方藝術透過肢體動勢而來的純抽象,而是從自然世界的局部放大出令他著迷的抽象部分,這種取向可追溯至 2002 年的「文字與書法」系列。薛松用了草書字體的局部作為畫面的佈局基礎,字義結構消失,抽象和書法相互參照、轉化,介於可辨識和不可辨識之間。「法自然」系列彷彿藉此警醒世人放下慣性思維,在矛盾中重新理解這些圖象,以至世界、當下、天人關係,並由此帶來啟發。

In Search of Dao – the Latest Works of Xue Song: Kwai Fung Hin Art Gallery

6 Sep - 15 Oct 2022

Kwai Fung Hin is delighted to present In Search of Dao – the Latest Works of Xue Song, which showcases more than 20 recent collage works from 'The Dao from Nature' series created by the Chinese Pop artist Xue Song since 2019. 

Xue Song's art fuses East and West, ancient and modern, as well as fine arts and popular culture. His works are born from fire, through the destruction and regeneration of images, to form collaged compositions that represent a holistic yet diverse world. This exhibition presents the enlightenment and breakthrough of Xue Song's creative process in recent years, from narrative imagery to abstract forms of expression, and witnesses his thoughts on the laws of nature, his search for a harmonious relationship between the world and man, and his pursuit of the way of art. 


 

Book your visit

 


 

Xue Song was born in Anhui, China in 1965. One of the most important artists of the Chinese 'Pop Art' movement, he grew up in an era of dramatic changes during China's reform and opening up, with rapid social modernisation, economic transformation, the rise of materialism, and a modern art movement that challenged traditional aesthetics. Living amidst the chaos of Shanghai, Xue Song shared the cultural outlook of the generation born in the 1960s: a profound, reflective approach to history combined with a strong sensitivity to contemporary changes. In exploring social facades and pursuing his unique style of art, he and his fellow artists contributed to the development of Chinese contemporary art. 

'My work is born out of fire.' - Xue Song

 

At the end of 1990, a fire in Xue Song's studio accidentally opened a new chapter in his creative journey. He was inspired by the ashes of charred remains amidst the ruins, and developed a new creative method that mixed ashes with paint and collaged images to form a wholly new visual style. Since then, 'burning', 'collage', 'deconstruction' and 'reconstruction' have become Xue Song's unique artistic language.

 

Influenced by the early collage works of Robert Rauschenberg (1925-2008), Xue Song's visual expression bears the distinctive features of Pop Art: heavy outlines and bold blocks of colour. 'Collage' became one of the techniques of Western Pop Art after World War II, which applied ready-made objects as creative materials to reflect the rise of post-war consumerism and popular culture. Xue Song has appropriated various printed materials such as images from classical works of art, historical photos, calligraphy, musical scores, commercial advertisements, and then disassembled, burned, collaged and mixed ashes to form his own world of images.

Until 2019, Xue Song's creations were divided into five themes:  'Cultural Pop', 'New Landscapes', 'Dialogue between the East and West', 'Text and Calligraphy', and the 'Metropolis' series. After deconstruction and reconstruction, various images became either mutually reinforced or endowed with new meanings through their dissonance, thereby reflecting the artist's perspectives on or metaphors relating to issues such as the East and West, historical memory and reality, traditional culture and contemporary viewpoints, as well as globalisation and individualism. 

At the turn of the 21st century, Xue Song's creations returned to their abstract roots, but remained richly expressive in reasoning and emotion, philosophy and poetry, geometric and calligraphic abstraction. 'The Dao from Nature' series since 2019 has set the stage for Xue Song to return to the order of the natural world.

'From destruction to rebirth, the cycle of life is endless.' - Xue Song

The term 'The Dao from Nature' is derived from the philosophical concept that 'Dao models itself after nature' as expounded in the Tao Te Ching (The Book of the Way). It means that the movement of all things in the universe follows the 'Dao', that is, the origin of the world as well as the laws of nature itself. The nature of the Dao is spontaneous, and repeats itself in endless cycles.

Born in Dangshan, Anhui Province, Xue Song spent a childhood in close proximity to nature, and was also influenced by the Daoist philosophy of Zhuangzi. Almost in his sixties, Xue Song has already lived through urban prosperity and political, economic and cultural turmoil. Now, he begins to pursue a state of purity and modesty. He has embraced simplicity by cutting out the superfluous in his works, and has gradually transformed his art from unique, sharp and niche expressions to in-depth explorations of his inner world.

Through the destruction and regeneration of images in his works, Xue Song ponders 'the laws of nature'. He discovers and extracts images from nature, and then deconstructs and reassembles them with skilful and adept collage techniques. The subject matter of his work has abandoned all identifiable cultural symbols and historical narratives, instead presenting abstract representations of nature, the four seasons, solar terms and other natural phenomena, to envision the endless cycles of life. From afar, his works reveal faint images of water, fire, leaf veins, marble and cracked ice, as well as the formal beauty of the abstract, while iconic ready-made images and textual collages emerge from a closer look at them. A paradox between the microscopic and the macroscopic, as well as tensions between form and content, constantly create dramatic fluctuations between rupture and rebirth in his paintings.

A feature of Chinese abstract painting is the ambiguity between likeness and unlikeness. Diverging from Western abstract art's use of gestural marks, Xue Song's works highlights his fascination with the abstract elements created from magnifying the details of the natural world. This approach can be traced back to his 'Text and Calligraphy' series in 2002. Xue Song used details of cursive fonts as the basis of his images, breaking the pattern of Chinese character structures and denying the meaning of the 'words'. The mutual references and transformation of abstraction and calligraphy make the image somehow recognisable, yet unrecognisable at the same time. 'The Dao from Nature' series seemingly asks people to relinquish their habitual thoughts and re-understand these images, the world, the present time, and the relationship between heaven and man in terms of contradictions, engendering new forms of inspiration.