色识 · 识色 • 明 姬

2018年10月15日 - 11月15日

季丰轩画廊于十月主办旅法韩籍画家明姬于香港第三次个人展览《色识 · 识色》。展览呈献明姬近年创作的15幅油画及14幅粉彩纸本作品。画作取材自韩国济州岛、香港及法国的自然景色,她以强烈个人风格的抽象笔触,描绘独有触觉捕捉的世界。是次展览由中国银行(香港)私人银行赞助。


随展览出版之画册收录了由法国前总理兼诗人多米尼克· 德· 维尔潘先生(Dominique de Villepin)、法国哲学家雷吉斯· 德布雷先生(Régis Debray)及法国历史学家丹尼尔·阿劳德先生(Daniel Arnald) 撰写的文章,对明姬的艺术理念作出精辟分析。

 

明姬1947年生于南韩大邱,毕业于汉城大学美术学院。 1972年定居法国。 1986年,获邀到巴黎庞比度中心举办展览,自此获西方艺术界注目。西方艺评家对她评价甚高,包括哲学家菲利普‧拉古‧拉巴特 (Philippe Lacoue-Labarthe) 和诗人雅蓝‧朱佛瓦 (Alain Jouffroy) 等。多米尼克‧德‧维尔潘形容她为「内行人的秘密」。

 

宇宙和自然是明姬作品的主题。她到处游历写生,但从不以重现实景为目标,而是用色彩笔触抽象呈现与大自然联系的一种状态。她以直觉捕捉蕴藏在自然中的节奏,召唤匿藏在表象下的灵性,解拆结构和色感的逻缉,深入世界的本质,重新创造超越「具象」、「抽象」界限的风景画。

 

她偏好绝境荒芜之地,足迹遍及戈壁、蒙古、智利、巴塔哥尼亚、黄山等。本次展览体现了明姬探根寻源,回到韩国济州岛画室创作。展品大部分取材自济州岛的西广村庄、松林花圃、海岸。从纸本作品到布本油画、从小品到巨幅,从几乎回归具象的风景画到以快笔写意而成的构图。明姬透过画达至某种纯粹状态,寻求把真实呈现在画上。

 

时年七十一,明姬的创作热情从未减却。创作之于明姫,是追逐自由的过程。她的作品只有摆脱一切束缚的纯触觉,以及感通天地的追求。

 

引述多米尼克 · 德 · 维尔潘特别为这次展览之撰文:

「明姬是一位罕有的艺术家。……她稀有之处,在于她的能力和才华,简单而言,有别于一般当今艺术创作。......这次展出的作品显示了她色域之宽,从精巧而纹理如脊的画作,笔触像要摆脱画布上的留白;以至丰满的风景,饱含生命,色彩互相对峙,如天与地相互吸引、排斥,相互穿越。.. ....」

Consciousness of Color, Color of Consciousness • Myonghi

15 October - 15 November 2018

In October, Kwai Fung Hin Art Gallery is delighted to present the third solo exhibition of French-Korean artist Myonghi, entitled ‘Consciousness of Color, Color of Consciousness’. The exhibition showcases 15 oil paintings and 14 works of pastel created by Myonghi in recent years. Inspired by the natural scenery of Jeju Island in Korea, Hong Kong and France, she captures the fleeting nature by her unique sensibility in abstract strokes. The exhibition is sponsored by Bank of China (Hong Kong) Private Banking.

 

The exhibition is accompanied by an exhibition catalogue with essays by Mr. Dominique de Villepin, former prime minister of France and poet, French philosopher Régis Debray, and French historian Daniel Arnald, providing in-depth analyses for the art of Myonghi.

 

Born in 1947 in South Korea and graduated from College of Fine Arts, Seoul National University, Myonghi moved to France in 1972. In 1986, she was invited to exhibit in the Centre Pompidou in Paris and has drawn attention of the Western art world since then. She was highly regarded by Western art critics, including philosopher Philippe Lacoue-Labarthe and poet Alain Jouffroy. Mr. Dominique de Villepin, the former Prime Minister of France and poet, described Myonghi as “a gem known only to insiders”.

 

The universe and nature are the themes of Myonghi's works. She travels around to sketch and never focuses on representing the realistic scenery. Instead, she intuitively captures the rhythm hidden in nature, recalling the spirituality underneath the superficial and deconstructing the logic of structure and colour senses; she explores the core of nature and recreates landscape painting that is beyond representation and abstraction.

 

Myonghi has spent a lot of time travelling, mostly to the exotic places, to confront the fierceness of nature. Her traces cover Gobi desert, Mongolia, Chile, Patagonia Glaciers, Huangshan, etc. This exhibition is a representation of the artworks created back at the place where Myonghi was rooted. Most of the exhibits were inspired by Seokwang Village, garden of camellia, pine fields and the coastline of Jeju Island in Korea.

 

The exhibits are ranged from works on paper to oil on canvas, small to very large formats, nearly figurative landscapes to compositions of quick strokes. Myonghi seeks to present the reality on the painting, and to achieve a certain pure state through painting.

 

At the age of seventy-one, Myonghi’s creative passion has never been compromised. To her, creation is the process of self-liberation. Her paintings are a pure sensibility freed from boundaries and a pursuit of the connection and resemblance between human and nature.


As quoted from the article written by Mr. Dominique de Villepin specially on this exhibition,

‘Myonghi is a rare artist… but even rarer because of her qualities, her talents and in short her difference in the contemporary world of artistic creation… This selection shows the magnitude of her palette, ranging from her delicate and ridged paintings escaping the white reserve of the canvas to rich landscapes, loaded with life where colours confront one another the way sky and earth attract, repel, interpenetrate each other...’