七重天 • 玛蒂奥 ‧ 培利思作品

2019年09月4日 - 10月3日

雕塑,位于三维空间的艺术。玛蒂奥·培利思却要以雕、刻、塑,提取时间之粹华,将各种异质的文化与地域处境,藉由相同的物质,共立于观者眼前的空间,开辟跨越不同维度的「七重天」。

 

在「迷墙」系列中,承继义大利文艺复兴骨肉的雕塑破墙而出,从现代的空气中汲取血脉与气息,呈现一幕幕现世的人类境况。男性人形戏剧性的巴洛克式姿势、史诗式的怫郁或愤懑表情与肌肉表现,不仅穿越了空间,更藉由背后沉默的墙 — 既是发源亦是终点,既是需要超越的滞碍,亦是维生必须的凭证,他们游走于时空隧道与不同人生境遇的悖论之中,进入第四维与第五维。

 

拥有类近身形的「守护者」们,其力量不单来自体魄;装备与战衣上的图腾纹饰 — 文化元素,才是为守护者赋能的强大资源。这些纹饰的差异,亦透析了全球化、现代化之下无法被消解的地域与文化差异。玛蒂奥为重现与守护质朴厚实的民族尊严,谨慎塑造每个细节,以此进入不同地域的文化根源,踏足第六维之中。

 

「甲虫」源起于玛蒂奥一段私密的童年经历。他对甲虫的陶塑,细致近乎放大的标本模型;但藉由加入个人化的记忆符号,自导一场魔幻的达尔文式适者演化,让自然与人类生活交集,筑起第七维。

 

季丰轩与玛蒂奥之合作始于十数年前,现第二次为他举办作品展,更见其成熟睿智。 「成熟」,不单指他作为雕塑家的技艺;更是作为艺术家,思维上的智性增益。玛蒂奥的作品,从不为当下时间与空间桎梏;凭借现世的物料,他攫取昔往、来世的英灵,跨越不同种族、物种的畛域。

Seven Dimensions • Matteo Pugliese

4 September - 3 October 2019

Sculpture is an art form stretching across three dimensions. Through carving and modelling, Matteo Pugliese extracts the distillation of time. Demonstrating heterogeneous cultures and diverse regional environments, by a single material, for his audience, the works he creates weaves a multi-dimensional sphere – the Seven Dimensions.

 

Extra Moenia inherits the representation of flesh from Italian Renaissance tradition, but the men who emerge from the walls, their breathing lungs, their pulsing blood vessels, are showing the contemporary situations of mankind. With theatrical Baroque gestures, as well as epic explosions of depression and rage through muscles expressions, the male figures in his sculptures are crossing and interacting with the reticent wall, which for them, is the origin and also the end, is an obstacle to be overcome but also a reason for their survival. Within the wall, they are struggling with assorted paradoxes, shuttling in the time tunnel and between worldly situations of human. With these elements, Pugliese expands his art into the fourth and fifth dimensions.

 

The Guardians all bear a husky shape similar to each other. Their strength comes not so much from their physique but rather from their cultural heritage, as reflected in the exotic totems and decorations on their battlefield outfits. Those characteristic ornaments also suggest the impossibility of cultural assimilation, even if globalization and modernization have announced their triumph over the diversity of any kind. To reconstruct and to defend the dignity of each ethnic group, Pugliese attends to every detail in the form and spirit of these guardians, for exploring the cultural root of different regions, and thus opening the sixth dimension in his creation.

 

Beetles are the incarnation of Pugliese’s memories of his childhood. Embedding tiny mementoes or amulets, this series of ceramic works are model-like vivid reproduction of the creatures. Yet, with the inclusion of personalized footprints of reminiscences, Pugliese produces a surreal form of Darwinist evolution, by interface between man and nature from different angles, which brings forth the seventh dimension in his artistic spectrum.

 

In more than a decade, "Seven Dimensions" is the second exhibition of the works of Pugliese at this gallery. Through all those years, we see an increasingly dazzling spark of maturity and philosophism in his art. Matteo Pugliese never is the prisoner of the present time and space: he captures the spirit of the past and the future, he transcends between different races and species, via the earthly materials.