中國當代陶瓷藝術最具代表性的藝術家之一。1965年生於中國江西省餘干市,現任清華大學美術學院陶瓷藝術系主任、教授、博導、清華大學美術學院美術館執行副館長、中國國家畫院陶瓷藝術研究所副所長、上虞青國際陶藝中心主任等。


1996年至今,白明曾在中國及海外美術館及藝術機構舉辦過三十場個人展覽。近年來,白明在歐洲舉辦的個展均獲得很大國際迴響,如法國普羅旺斯薩拉貢美術館(2018年)、葡萄牙里斯本藝術、建築與科技博物館(MAAT)(2017年)、美國堪薩斯藝術中心NCECA 40週年個展(2016年)、韓國首爾電力美術館(2015年)、法國賽努奇博物館(中法建交50週年重點項目)(2014年)、法國Château du Gué-Péan城堡(2013年)、法國巴黎中國文化中心(2010年)等。

 

2019年11月16日至2020年3月15日,比利時凱拉米斯陶瓷博物館 (Keramis Centre de la Céramique) 為白明舉行為期四個月的大型個展「大地和鳴 · 白明個展」 (Bai Ming: Vibrations of the Earth)。2020年4月11日至8月10日,法國尼斯亞洲藝術博物館亦將會舉辦白明大型作品展。

 

作品獲大英博物館、法國賽努奇博物館、法國薩拉貢美術館、葡萄牙里斯本藝術、建築與科技博物館、美國堪薩斯大學博物館、中國美術館、中國國家博物館等收藏。

 

獲大英博物館收藏之作品 

 

曾獲獎項包括博雅油畫大賽金獎(1993年)、中國青年陶藝家學術邀請展金獎(2000年)、中國現代陶藝推廣貢獻獎(2004年)等。2004年,他的著作《景德鎮傳統製瓷工藝》獲中國圖書獎,並出版英文及法文版於歐洲發行。

Bai Ming is one of the most significant masters of contemporary Chinese ceramic art. Born in 1965 in Yugan, Jiangxi Province, China, he is currently the Director, Professor and Doctoral Supervisor of the Department of Ceramic Art in the Academy of Arts & Design of Tsinghua University, Executive Vice Director of the Art Museum in the Academy of Arts & Design, Tsinghua University, Deputy Director of the Ceramic Art Institute of China National Academy of Painting, Director of Shangyu Celadon Contemporary International Ceramic Art Center, etc.

 

Since 1996, Bai Ming has held 30 solo exhibitions in China and overseas at prestigious museums and institutions. In recent years, several solo exhibitions of Bai Ming have gained international recognition, such as the solo exhibitions at Musée de Salagon, France (2018); Museum of Art, Architecture and Technology, Lisbon, Portugal (2017); Marlin Gallery of Kansas City , U.S.A., for celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts (NCECA) (2016), Korea Electric Power Corporation Art Center (2015), Musée Cernuschi, France, as the key project of the "50th Anniversary of the Establishment of China-France Diplomatic Relations" (2014); Château du Gué-Péan, France (2013); Centre Culturel de Chine, Paris, France (2010), etc.

 

From 16 November 2019 to 15 March 2020, Keramis Centre de la Céramique in Belgium is holding a four-month solo exhibition Bai Ming: Vibrations of the Earth. In 2020, from 11 April to 10 August, Musée des Arts Asiatiques in Nice, France will also organize a large-scale exhibition for Bai Ming.

 

His works are collected by important museums such as the British Museum, Musée Cernuschi, Musée de Salagon, France, Museum of Art, Architecture and Technology, Lisbon, Portugal, University of Kansas Museum, USA, National Art Museum of China, Beijing, National Museum of China, Beijing, etc.

 

Artworks collected by the British Musuem


He has received numerous awards, including Gold Prize of Boya Oil Painting Competition (1993); Gold Prize of The Invitational Exhibition of China Young Ceramic Artists (2000); Award for Contribution to Promotion of the Contemporary Ceramic Art of China in the Great Hall of the People (2004). In 2004, his book Jingdezhen Traditional Ceramic-making Techniques received the National Book Award, which has been translated into English and French and published in Europe.