胸有成竹 • 方少華

2015年04月17日 - 05月9日

展覽呈獻中國藝術家方少華由2012年至2014年創新的觀念繪畫,包括六組由五至十五個畫面組成的《胸有成竹》及《無譜之竹》系列作品,以及六組單畫面的《無譜之竹》油畫系列。展覽作品均指向一個完整的觀念:從「無」到「有」、從「有」到「無」。

 

1962年生於湖北省,方少華是中國當代藝術界的代表人物。於1983年畢業於湖北美術學院油畫系,及於1988年同校取得藝術研究碩士學位。現爲華南師範大學師範大學美術學院院長。

 

他幼年曾學習中國傳統書法和水墨。於1977年他贏得一項全國繪畫比賽第二名,年僅十五歲。在大學時期,他追隨楊立光、劉依聞、尚楊三位老師,受正規俄式藝術教育。早期受德國後表現主義影響,但很快就走出了前人的影子,以備受推崇的《拱門》系列確立了自己的藝術語言。他亦是著名的85美術新潮的先鋒之一。往後,他的成績一直得到肯定,不斷獲邀參加世界各地的展覽,包括1996年德國波恩現代藝術博物館主辦的《中國!》展覽,其他參展藝術家包括:王廣義、張曉剛、岳敏君、劉煒等﹔2008年,於上海美術館舉行大型個展《方少華--為伊甸園尋找無公害的蘋果》﹔以及2012年於上海當代藝術博物館舉辦的《重新發電--第九屆上海雙年展》等。

 

除創作之外,他爲中國當代藝術教育貢獻良多。他教導及影響了無數年青藝術家。他的學生包括著名的當代藝術家曾梵志、毛焰、石沖及馬六明等。

 

從1980年代中期開始,他先後以表現主義、普普藝術和超現實主義的手法,創作了一系列涉及鄉土尋根、都市改造、社會變遷、文化演進、時尚更迭、生態環保、經濟金融和藝術史料等經典話題的油畫作品。從1990年代初期的《紅柱》系列起步,他的創作先後經歷了《拱門》和《傘》等樹立個人標誌的作品系列,他的寫實技巧一直非常優秀。近十年來,他又以《似水流年》、《伊甸園》等系列以及眾多再造藝術史經典的作品聞名,例如《蒙娜麗莎》、《最後的晚餐》、《草地上的午餐》及《擴建安格爾的土耳其浴室》等。

 

自2012年開始,他用毛筆在畫布上自由揮灑地嘗試,發展出《無譜之竹》系列,包括展覽中五幅《無譜之竹》油畫、十幅一組的《朝雲暮雨》和五幅一組的《朝霧暮雨》。畫家畫竹通常依據畫譜的步驟,先畫竹桿後畫葉,竹葉的聚散分佈也有根據,但方少華的《無譜之竹》則拋棄所有畫譜的規則。

 

他以竹子為題材,用中國毛筆沾上油彩在畫布上反復疊加竹葉,白色的畫面漸變成淺灰、深灰直至黑色,密佈竹葉,然後再以白色筆觸繼續塗繪或潑灑,最後畫面被高密度的白色筆觸覆蓋。畫面由具象的竹子發展成抽象的視覺表現,完全消去有形物體的符號象徵及文化歷史含義,從一切尋常及既定的意義當中抽離,把繪畫從隱喻暗示或再現物象中釋放出來。作品《朝雲暮雨》及《朝霧暮雨》更把繪畫過程用獨立畫面呈現,將畫面反復疊加的竹葉由銀白、淺灰、深灰、墨黑、再加上白色潑灑,以如連環圖般的形式,鋪展出無中生有,最後又復歸於無的概念。

 

《無譜之竹》系列突破方少華一直以來的藝術創作,以往刻意營造一個物象互相衝突矛盾的畫面,從而重新理解物象之間微妙的關係,而《無譜之竹》則著眼在繪畫過程: 再現、添加、塗抹、消減等所產生的意義,就像萬物的生長、積累、游離和消散的過程,甚或「天下萬物生於有,有生於無」、「有」和「無」本為一體的道家思想。方少華建基在此概念上,更發展了另一系列作品《胸有成竹》。

 

2014年開始,方少華邀請模特兒,把《無譜之竹》這個系列直接描繪在真實的人體上。首先他在裸體模特兒身體塗成白色,然後以這個純白的肉體為畫布,接著逐步加上黑色竹葉,直至密不透風,第二階段是逐步向黑色竹葉滴灑白色顏料,使模特兒的身軀慢慢回復一片白色,完成一個循環:從「無」到「有」、從「有」到「無」。整個過程以錄像記存,而不同階段的畫面則以攝影代替繪畫,用相片或轉載於布面上,成了由多幅漸變畫面組成的作品,包括《胸有成竹之一》和《胸有成竹之二》,是為方少華突破繪畫的框架的創新觀念作品,類似行為藝術的流程,更純粹表現「有」與「無」的概念。以同一概念創作的油畫作品還有《胸有成竹──金竹》和《胸有成竹──墨竹》。方少華把無形的觀念形象化,再把具體的形象抽象化,引領觀者從有形的繪畫參悟着無形的道家思想。

 

上海當代藝術館館長李旭的評論文章《色空之境:方少華近作釋讀》中,如此評論方少華的藝術:


「用疊加的文本、覆蓋的形象、消解的過程創造出新生的意義,變靜態為動態,由單一而多元,是方少華的《無譜之竹》和《胸有成竹》等一系列近作所貢獻出的獨特藝術觀和方法論。在21世紀初的今天……中國當代藝術家們需要更多針對藝術本體的思考,在面向未來的具體實踐中,對民族歷史文脈的當代化把握和表達能力正變得越來越重要。如何遠離「主題先行」式的藝術生產思路?如何在當代藝術語法下展現中國式的傳統審美觀?艱深晦澀的觀念藝術如何訴諸感官化表達?繪畫如何在當代藝術的演進中繼續扮演重要角色?……對於上述問題,方少華的近作顯然為我們提供了一個非常具有說服力的表達範本。」

Realm of Form as Emptiness • Fang Shao Hua

17 April - 9 May 2015

This exhibition presents the latest series of works by Chinese artist Fang Shao Hua, entitled Perceived Form on Chest and Bamboo without Regulation.

 

The two series feature six series of conceptual works, comprising five to fifteen tableaux each, as well as six individual oil paintings, all created by the artist between 2012 and 2014. The various tableaux illustrate the concept of change—between form and nothingness, between nihility and being.

 

Born in 1962 in Hubei, Fang Shao Hua is a bright icon of Chinese contemporary art. He graduated from Hubei Academy of Fine Arts in 1983, and obtained a master's degree from the same school in 1988. Fang is now Dean of the Art Institute of South China Normal University.

 

Since the mid 1980s, Fang has employed Expressionism, Pop Art and Surrealism imagery and created serial oil works that explore urban motifs of searching for self-identity in suburbs, the renovation of cities, socio-cultural development, the rise and fall of trends, ecological and environmental protection, economy and finance, and of course, art history. Being a scholar-artist who cares about the humanities and social phenomena, Fang has shown uniqueness in both motif and form. Starting from The Red Pillar series in early 90s, he has consolidated his remarkable style through series like The Arc and Umbrellas. In the recent decade, Time Goes By, The Eden, Expansion of The Turkish Bath and numerous reinventions of classics in art history have marked another milestone for him.

 

In 2012, he started to develop the series of Bamboo without Regulation. He has brought the unique character of Chinese brush into full bloom in his oil works. His works differ from traditional literati paintings by the overlapping oil brushwork, which is a deliberation to coincide with the freestyle element in ink. In contrast to ink painting on Chinese xuan paper, which is water-based,the stylish brushwork and texture of oil creates a similar, yet novel visual impact.

 

Each work of this series constitutes of many consecutive panels. Starting from the first, plain white panel, white bamboo leaves are gradually painted in light and dark grey, then diffuse and merge as a charcoal black bamboo clump. On the almost all black screen, he then continuously applied layers of grey and white brushworks in an attempt to fade the gradients until the screen was covered with the intense whiteness and transformed to an indescribable and abstract schema. The superimposition of black and white has wiped out the historical and cultural metaphors of image and symbol. It was born in emptiness, and then vanished into emptiness.

 

Based on this series, Fang further developed another conceptual series named Perceived Form on Chest in 2014. Fang invited models for painting bamboos on real human bodies. He first painted the nude model into white and use the white body as his canvas. He then painted the bamboo shoots like practising calligraphy, carefully laid out each stroke and every layer. When the human body was almost covered in black, he would colour and splash the human body with white paint again to create the alternate black and white, a visual impact similar to the glaze produced by Jun kiln. The human body attains sheer white once again. Close to enlightenment, the contrast and unity of black and white, being and nihility, less and more, form and emptiness in his works have successfully demonstrated a spiritual explorative journey of visions and mentality.

 

Li Xu, Deputy Director of Power Station of Art, wrote the following critique on Fang’s latest creation:

 

“…Using overlapping texts, covering images and the process of diminishing to give rise to new meanings in recent series like Bamboo Without Regulation and Perceived Form on Chest, as well as changing the static to mobile and the monotonous to multifarious, have become Fang's exclusive methodology and contributions of art. Nowadays in the early 21st century, Chinese contemporary culture has gained the long-vanished confidence along with the rise of power of the country. The age of using ideological symbols to attract exotic gaze has passed. Contemporary Chinese artists need to contemplate art itself. In their future practice, the revitalization of ethnic identity and history as well as its expression has gained more and more importance. How to avoid the ‘motif-driven’ mode of art production? How to present the Chinese traditional aesthetics in the contemporary context? How to realize the abstruse and unfathomable conceptual art through expressions of different senses? How can painting continue its indispensable role in the contemporary art development? ...In face of all the aforementioned questions, Fang Shao Hua has offered us a persuasive exemplification with his recent creations.”